Pure by Julianna Baggott

I have mixed views on this book, but the more time I spend reflecting back, the positive these views become. As an early reviewer, I came across this book before I knew anything about it, and in this case it may not be the best approach.

Julianna throws you straight into her strange apocalyptic world, and it takes a while to work out exactly what has happened. I also think you need to be in a certain frame of mind.

To give that little bit of background which I think is needed, Pure is set in a world after the ‘detonations’, which appear to be dirty nuclear bombs. Those caught in these explosions have been fused with things they were near or holding. The main character, for example, has a doll’s head fused to the end of her arm, and others are much worse. Some have been fused with other people or animals, and some are fused with the earth.

I think it was this concept I had a hard time accepting, which stopped me becoming completely enveloped by the story.

A select few were selected to be protected in a large dome.. and because there was no fusion, these are known as Pure. Going a step further, they are also being ‘coded’ to make them stronger, more intelligent etc.

I believe this is being classed as Young Adult book, but it’s certainly not the fluffy romance teen books which seem all the range. It’s quite a dark book, which will make you think.. especially after reading the authors comments at the back.

For me, it didn’t have that special something I found in the Hunger Games, but I would still recommend it. I would say just be prepared to accept the world shown to you, enjoy the characters which will stay with you, and give it a try.

Published by Headline Feb 2012

Categories: Reviews | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Pure by Julianna Baggott

  1. Hayley

    I’ve just finished this, it took me a while, partly through lack of time but mainly because it just didn’t draw me in. I’ve tried to think why this is and all I can conclude is that the story was very one dimensional, it was Pressia, Partridge et al against the others, good vs evil, with nothing new to add that other books haven’t managed. Yes, the detonations were ‘different’ but that was just the background and didn’t really impact on the story as much as I felt it would/could have done.. It did pick up a lot towards the end and I did kind of care what happened but I won’t be in any hurry to pick up the second book. I will be interested to see if my 13 year old son picks it up, and if so, what he thinks of it.

  2. Thanks Hayley – it seems to be getting some good reviews, so it’s nice to hear from someone who wasn’t overkeen.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

