Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling

Synopsis (from back cover)

Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy – until he is rescued by a beetle-eyed giant of a man, enrols at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, learns to play Quidditch and does battle in a deadly duel. The Reason: Harry Potter is a wizard!

Review

I’m sure this book needs no introduction and if you don’t know who Harry Potter is by now then you should be ashamed of yourself!

With that opening statement I guess it wont come as any big surprise to you to hear that this isn’t the first time I’ve read this book, and it definitely wont be the last. In fact if truth be told I’ve actually lost count of just how many times I’ve read it but I can quite honestly say that each time I pick it up I find it more and more enjoyable and more often than not I end up noticing things that I didn’t pick up on first, second or even third time around.

The attention to detail is quite literally superb and with the authors fantastic imagination it’s almost hard to believe that the magical world of Hogwarts is fictional. In fact if I’m entirely honest with you I have to admit that there is a part of me that secretly believes that it does indeed exist and that to my absolute horror I must be a Squib as I never received an invite! Oh the shame!

With very real, likable and imaginative characters that you fall in love with from the outset, the story is told in a way that makes you feel like you are right there with Harry as he starts his first year at school.

Although pure escapism, the story itself is totally believable and although primarily aimed at children is in fact suitable for all ages whether young or old.

A highly enjoyable and hugely entertaining read.

Categories: Reviews | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

