Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte

Synposis from Amazon:

Orphaned Jane Eyre grows up in the home of her heartless aunt and later attends a charity school with a harsh regime, enduring loneliness and cruelty. This troubled childhood strengthens Jane’s natural independence and spirit – which prove necessary when she finds a position as governess at Thornfield Hall. However, when she finds love with her sardonic employer, Rochester, the discovery of his terrible secret forces her to make a choice. Should she stay with him and live with the consequences, or follow her convictions, even if it means leaving the man she loves? A novel of intense power and intrigue, Jane Eyre (1847) dazzled and shocked readers with its passionate depiction of a woman’s search for equality and freedom.

My thoughts:

This was my first classic book that I have read. I was lucky enough to see it on a stall for 20p so I thought ‘why not?’.

I really really enjoyed the way it was written. A beautiful story which I felt compelled to keep on reading. It took me quite a while to read the book as I had to pay close attention to the language but nevertheless I throughly enjoyed it.

I think that this was definately the right time of year to read this book with it being autumn here, as there are lots of candles, open fires and the good old british weather mentioned throughout the book. I was curled up in my armchair with a blanket and a cuppa totally engrossed in the book.

I am now a classic ‘addict’ and have purchased several more books. I would recommend this to anymore – either a first timer like me or a classic expert.

Categories: Reviews | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

