The Christmas Companion

Synopsis from Amazon:
From the early traditions that marked this Mass of Christ, to the modern myths and pagan influences that have merged to create our contemporary ‘winter holiday’. Like any good Christmas meal, this book of Christmas treats is complete with all the trimmings, including: the origin of much beloved Christmas tree and why we owe thanks to Norway for the Christmas tree in Trafalgar Square; games and trivia to while away the after-effects of the Christmas meal; what is the best-selling Christmas single of all time – test your knowledge of festive tunes with carolling conundrums; in the Christmas spirit – extraordinary examples of events stopping for Christmas, such as the World War I ceasefire between German and Allied troops; and, who exactly is Father Christmas/Santa Claus and how does he do his job after all that sherry? This book is the latest in the bestselling “Companion” series.

My thoughts:

I am a self confessed Christmasholic, I love all things Christmassy. So when I was given the opportunity to review this book I jumped at the chance!

I loved the introduction, it made me feel very festive. Each page has an intersting fact on it relating to the page number. This book was filled to the brim with interesting stories, excerpts from books, christmas cracker jokes, cooking tips, receipes, the history of christmas and christmas facts. I have been looking for a book like this for years and have finally found it!

This is a book I will re-read every year as I found it really really interesting.

10/10

Published by panmacmillan

Hardback 03/10/08 £9.99

Categories: Reviews | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

