Biron’s Mercy by Ben Gibbins

Set in Philadelphia, construction worker Sean, whose main interests in life are drinking with his friend Jason and flirting with women, finds himself caught up in a nightmare, when a serial killer starts terrorising people who Sean and Jason went to school with.  Sean decides that he has to find and stop the killer before more lives – possibly including those of Sean and Jason – are lost.  Initially, Jason agrees to accompany him, but events take their toll on him, and Sean finds himself largely alone.  As he finds himself drawing closer to the truth, he can only hope that he will get there before the killer gets to him…

I have mixed feelings about this book.  On the positive side, the storyline is interesting and fast paced enough to keep the reader from losing interest, with a lot of action packed into it’s 166 pages.  I was also wrong-footed on both of my guesses about who was committing the murders, and I always like to be surprised.  I also liked the fact that Sean was not a stereotypical hero – he seemed to drink probably much too much, could be dismissive of others, and showed little respect for authority at times.  I find this more believeable than having a ‘picture perfect’ hero, who could do no wrong.

However, at times I did have to suspend my disbelief.  Sean seemed to figure out the connection between the victims pretty quickly, while the Police were still struggling to make the obvious connection.  I found it difficult to believe that it wouldn’t have been one of the first things they had realised.  There was also one particular part of the storyline which seemed far too convenient and unlikely, which spoiled my enjoyment somewhat.

My main quibble with the book though, was the lack of grammar and good spelling.  However, I should point out that the copy I was reading may have been an unedited proof, which might explain this.  Nonetheless, it did make it difficult reading at times – and one character’s name changed completely during the course of the story!

In short, I definitely think that there is an interesting story here, but it would benefit from a strong edit.

Categories: Reviews | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Biron’s Mercy by Ben Gibbins

  1. Thank you for the review. Unfortunately the copy you recieved was not the fully edited version. I truly appreciate the constructive comments. I have one question that is very important to me. Would you like to see where the stories goes from here?

  2. ruth72

    I definitely would! I don’t want to give too much away for anyone who will read it in future, but I did think the ending was great and would like to see what happens next.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

