Moominland Midwinter by Tove Jansson

I watched ‘The Moomins’ after school back in the day, when I watched it, it was live action models (if that is the correct wording) but recently I saw the cartoon and it was not the same.

‘Moominland Midwinter’ is the first Moomin book I have read, following from years of recommendations from my good friend Elizabeth (who is also known as ‘Moominliz’ ~ you can see a theme here), I decided to find out more about those little moomins.

I enjoyed ‘Moominland Midwinter’, I liked how the main character, Moomintroll woke up from hibernation early and everything was different in his world that he knew, he saw the world that he missed why he and his family hibernated (from November to April). Tove Jansson world of Moomins is amazing, inspiring and full of imagination, I loved every part of the book, the characters, (especially Too~Ticky and Little My).

I am planning to read more Moomin books.

Reviewed by Paula Mc (Gyre/Heen)

Categories: Reviews | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Moominland Midwinter by Tove Jansson

  1. bigwords88

    The stop-motion Moomins series. Yes! Someone else remembers it. Here I was, thinking it was just me, but there are actually other people who know of its’ existence. It was right up there with Noggin The Nog and Bagpuss for sheer creativity. *sigh* Now I feel so very, very old.

    I’ve seen the books a few times in second-hand bookstores. There seems to be several ranges, with the spot illustrated novels, fully-illustrated ones for younger children and a (strangely comforting) one page with picture / one page with text format, harkening back to the Little Big Books. They seem to come in different sizes as well. One of the reasons I never started seriously collecting Jansson was the sheer number of titles out there.

    I completely agree with you on his expertise. Tove’s Moomin books display the talents of an excellent writer at the height of his creative power.

  2. Thanks Bigwords88, I am so glad you also remember it too, I am pretty sure it was russian made but I could be wrong.

    All of the paperback books are on amazon (I just added them to my wishlist), I hope you get to read some of Tove’s work.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

