The Fifth Elephant by Terry Pratchett

the fifth elephant

Synopsis from www.terrypratchett.co.uk:

SAM VIMES IS A MAN ON THE RUN. YESTERDAY HE WAS A DUKE, A CHIEF OF POLICE AND THE AMBASSADOR TO THE MYSERIOUS, FAT-RICH COUNTRY OF UBERWALD.

Now he has nothing but his native wit and the gloomy trousers of Uncle Vanya (don’t ask). It’s snowing. It’s freezing. And if he can’t make it through the forest to civilization there’s going to be a terrible war.

But there are monsters on his trail. They’re bright. They’re fast. They’re werewolves – and they’re catching up.

The Fifth Elephant is Terry Pratchett’s latest instalment in the Discworld cycle, this time starring dwarfs, diplomacy, intrigue and big lumps of fat.

This is number 24 in Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series. This book features The Watch, vampires, were wolves and dwarfs. Again, Sam Vimes finds himself leaving Ankh Morpork to go to foreign parts. There is a dwarf coronation set to take place, but things are not right. There are murders, stolen scones, and Vimes gets himself arrested.

This was another enjoyable Discworld novel. Again, not one of my favourites but still a good read. There were times I found myself laughing out loud – especially in regards to the dwarf who made contraception, but there were times when I was losing concentration. One thing I love about Pratchett however is he always pulls me back in to the story. I found myself enjoying the fight scenes, laughing at the vampires and being annoyed at the were wolves.

I loved Vimes’ wife Sybil. I think I laughed every time spoke – but I particularly liked her at the end when she got angry. I was sat cheering her on. I loved Captain Carrot too, and was really sad when he got hurt. And to have Colon in charge of the Watch was genius writing; but I did think Pratchett could have added in more Colon parts in the story.

I recommend all the Discworld books, and although this is not the best in my opinion I still enjoyed it and would recommend it. This is just an awesome series of books.

8/10

Categories: Reviews | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

