The Man in the Picture by Susan Hill

As a new fan of Susan Hill I just couldn’t wait to get my teeth into this novella. I shouldn’t really compare it to ‘The Women in Black’ but it just doesn’t have the same grip and eeriness about it.

The story is narrated by Theo, an old Cambridge lecturer who is telling a former student; Oliver about a Venetian party painting that hangs upon his wall.  As you have probably guessed it is no ordinary painting, it appears just as ordinary as any other oil painting but  it is full of evil, hatred and revenge.

The sub plots within the story created more depth but sometimes made it a little disjointed for me and I found it hard to follow. An interesting story but I wouldn’t recommend if you are a ‘ghost story connoisseur’ as it just doesn’t have that bite.

However, despite my disappointment I have to give well deserved credit for Hill’s descriptive and atmospheric writing skills, there wasn’t much left to the imagination when I was reading, she creates a scene just perfectly.

 

 

Categories: Reviews | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

