The Midwife’s Confession by Diane Chamberlain

Title: The Midwife’s ConfessionImage
Author: Diane Chamberlain
ISBN: 978-0778304661
Publisher:  MIRA

First Published:  June 2011 (paperback)
No .of pages:  432

Rating: 4/5

Synopsis (from Amazon):
Would you read a letter never meant to be opened? Would you want to know secrets never meant to be told?  Or should a woman’s mistakes stay buried?  An unfinished letter was hidden amongst Tara and Emerson’s best friend’s things after her suicide. Noelle was the woman they entrusted to deliver their precious babies into the world, a beloved friend. Her suicide shocked them both. But her legacy could destroy them. For her letter reveals a terrible secret that challenges everything they thought they knew. Taking them on a journey that will irrevocably change their own lives – and the life of a desperate stranger – forever.

Review:
I picked up this book after reading and hearing multiple recommendations and I wasn’t disappointed.  I can’t agree that she is as good as Jodi Picoult but I can appreciate the comparison and will definitely be reading more of her books in the future.  I was a few chapters in before I got a feeling of deja vu and it took me a couple more chapters before I realised why this book was so familiar;  It is incredibly similar to the start of the Desperate Housewives TV series, just on a more serious level.  Being a big fan of DH, I was more than happy to continue reading.

Despite feeling like I already knew the story (which I didn’t, for those of you that have seed DH) I still enjoyed it.  There are several twists and turns in the story to keep you on your toes.  Some I had already guessed and some genuinely took me by surprise.  Chamberlain is very good at leading the reader on and making you feel like you’ve gotten everything figured out, then pulling the rug from under you.  It makes for a very interesting read.

The book is about 3 friends and we are first introduced to them when Noelle commits suicide, out of the blue and Tara and Emerson are left to try and figure it all out.  When clearing out Noelle’s things, they come across a partially written letter and in an effort to try and understand what drove their friend to kill herself, they set out on a journey to unravel a story, with unimaginable consequences.  The story jumps back and forth from current time to events from the past and has so many twists and turns that I wasn’t sure where it was going to stop.  The story held my interest from the outset and I’m sure any fans of Picoult out there will enjoy Chamberlain’s style.

Categories: Reviews | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

