An Open Vein by JM Warwick

Synopsis from Official Site:
Imagine being locked in a room alone. You have no food, and the only water to drink comes from a nearby tap. You’ve been told this will help you to bond and you believe it, because your father has told you this. He’s a doctor.

You find out everything you once thought was real and true, is a lie.

I will say from the outset that I think this book is rather outstanding. It’s dark and powerful, keeps you reading, and stays with you long after you put it down.

The story starts with John, a rather intelligent, yet protected sixteen year old, going to stay with his ‘uncle’ in New York for the summer. Kane is a close family friend, who John has looked up to all his life.

First Kane informs John that he is in fact his father, then he tells him that there have been threats against him, and he must stay in the apartment. From here, things spiral out of control, and take a very dark turn.

The author takes us through the confusion and fear that the teenage John is feeling, and slowly unwraps the true Kane – she makes you feel that you’re there with John, experiencing all that he does.

I was also impressed with the ending.. instead of the ‘Hollywood ending’ that would have been so easy, the darkness and confusion continues.

An impressive book, leaving me wanting more.

Reviewed by Michelle

Categories: Reviews | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “An Open Vein by JM Warwick

  1. kell1976

    I thought I’d add my own little review here too:

    The writing feels very claustrophobic, which in this case is good, I think, as it adds to the atmosphere. I began to feel as trapped as poor John! It remained tense right to the very end, even after the “big reveal”.

    Throughout the book I felt incredibly uncomfortable reading it, almost as though I were being watched, which had a hand in increasing the tension. It’s an edgy novel aimed at the young adult market that will certainly appeal to those older teenagers looking for something harder and more adult to read.

  2. Gyre

    I really enjoyed ‘An Open Vein’ a very interesting twist I felt, the power of persuasion for one thing. The characters were wonderfully written, I did at times feel a bit frustrated with the main character, but I think that was more picking up on his frustration.

    A great read.

  3. Pingback: A Season of Eden by J.M. Warwick « BCF Book Reviews - Love books? Review books!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.