Mort by Terry Pratchett

mort

Synopsis from back cover:

‘Although the scythe isn’t pre-eminent among the weapons of war, anyone who has been on the wrong end of , say, a peasants’ revolt will know that in skilled hands it is fearsome’ For Mort however, it is about to become one of the tools of his trade. From henceforth, Death is no longer going to be the end, merely the means to an end. He has received an offer he can’t refuse. As Death’s apprentice he’ll have free board, use of the company horse and being dead isn’t compulsory. It’s the dream job until he discovers that it can be a killer on his love life…

Well I think this is my favourite Discworld novel so far! It definitely contains the funniest/most memorable line for me:

Death: “I could murder a curry” – hilarious!

Well this story follows Mort as he becomes Death’s apprentice. Death is still my favourite character, I loved him! He had some great lines, and I laughed so hard at his storyline, and how his character developed.

What I truely loved, was the return of Rinsewind! He too had my laughing! Pratchett definitely did not let me down with this book. Again, his writing kept me gripped, and kept me there in the Discworld.

Of course, this is a love story though, which meant a bit of soppiness – and this I felt ruined the ending a little, but not even for it to completely let me down or ruin the story. Actually in some cases this storyline was quite amusing.

But as I said, this is my favourite so far!

9/10

Categories: Reviews | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.