A Lifetime Burning by Linda Gillard

Greedy for experience but determined to be good, Flora Dunbar spends a lifetime seeking love, trying to build a future out of the wreckage of her past – an eccentric childhood spent in the shadow of her musical twin, Rory; early marriage to Hugh, a clergyman twice her age; motherhood, which brings her Theo, the son she cannot love; middle-age, when she finds brief happiness in a scandalous affair with her nephew, Colin.

“If you asked my sister-in-law why she hated me, she’d say it was because I seduced her precious firstborn then tossed him onto the sizeable scrap-heap marked Flora’s ex-lovers. But she’d be lying. That isn’t why Grace hated me. Ask my brother Rory…”

I’m not entirely sure where to start with this book, or how to do it justice. It tells the story of the above mentioned Flora, but also of everyone around her.. how their lives interact, in ways both expected, and unexpected.

This is a book that will grab your attention from the very first page, and each chapter leaves you wanting to know more. Although it keeps you turning the pages, there were times when I had to put it down, and take a deep breath, before picking it back and getting absorbed again. There are issues explored here that aren’t easy to read, but they are handled in a way that means you can take that deep breath and carry on.

The various characters in this book are very well written, each one provoking a variety of emotions. They really do come alive, and won’t be easily forgotten, and I’m sure that many readers will have varying reactions to them.. which I feel is part of the power of this book.

This is not a light read, but one brimming with emotion. It does move around in time, but doesn’t in any way confuse – the journey all comes together at the end.

Linda is a new author to me this year, and she has jumped right up there into my list of favourites. As for this book, I believe it’s easily my favourite book of the year so far, and has gone onto my re-read pile, which not many achieve!

Highly recommended!

Categories: Reviews | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “A Lifetime Burning by Linda Gillard

  1. Thanks so much for your marvellous review, Michelle. It’s not easy to write about this book without giving the plot away! I’m very honoured it’s your favourite book of the year so far. It’s my personal favourite of my 4 novels and the characters still haunt me, even though I finished writing the book in 2005.

  2. LyzzyBee

    A lovely review and, indeed, well done for not revealing the plot!

    Emotional Geology is still my favourite of Linda’s novels, but A Lifetime Burning does haunt one and stick around in your mind too!

  3. This sounds like just what I was looking for. I need a good summer read, and if this is as engrossing as it sounds, then it should do just fine. Thanks!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.