Children’s books by Maverick Publishing

Now for something a little different from me – I was asked whether I would review some children’s books, so I sat down with my 8 year old daughter and we took a look…

They were sent from Maverick Books, and my over all impression was very positive – they are professionally produced, with bright illustrations, and large print which is both fun and readable.

This was also Amy’s first comment as she flicked through – she felt the writing was easy to read, and the illustrations were fun. She then sat to read each book, and give me her thoughts..

Grandma Bendy by Izy Penguin
This tells the story of a gran with very long, bendy arms and legs. When she was younger she used to be a burglar, but after being locked in prison, she learnt she was wrong, and now uses her bendy limbs to help people, and be a cool gran. Amy said it was good to show what she did wrong, and she also liked the little mice who popped up in the pictures.

The Jelly That Wouldn’t Wobble by Angela Mitchell
I think this one was my own personal favourite, telling the story of a rather stubborn jelly, and the attempts to make it wobble for the Princess. It would be great for reading out aloud, and I could imagine this being popular in nurseries and schools.

The Fearsome Beasties by Giles Paley-Phillips
This one was a little different, telling the story of a Beastie who does actually manage to eat some children – although he does get chopped in half, and the children escape! It’s written in rhyme, which is usually popular with children, and the dark humour reminded me of Roald Dahl. Amy liked it, but she did feel it would be better for slightly older children, in case it scared the little ones.

The books are designed for 3-7 year olds, which I think is about right – they’re good for reading out loud, and then for older years to read themselves. Thank you to Maverick Books for letting me take a look.

 

Categories: Reviews | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.